AT THE MONUMENT
REFLECTIONS ON THE PAST
Located on the south side of West Court Street, this brick church was built between 1901 and 1902. The architect was J. Mills Platt of Rochester. Constructed of red brick and stone trim, it was built by H. Clemmons & Co. of Rochester. Narrow stained glass windows are on both the north and east walls. It has a tower with a peaked point which is slightly higher than the main portion of the church.
Prior to construction, the old existing wooden church was torn down.
The first Methodist house of worship was built in 1824, at the corners three-fourths of a mile north of the center of the village on the south corner. Chester Hurd was the architect. In 1835, it was removed to the place where the present house stands . And in 1853, to make room for a new and larger one, it was sold to Rev. J. W. Hines and by him removed to the south side of Buffalo Street near the bridge to be fitted up for dwellings. It was then sold by him to George W. Morris by whose heirs it is still owned. The new church [pictured] was completed in 1854, was, and in 1868, thoroughly repainted outside and tastily frescoed and otherwise improved inside, at an expense of $1,300. It is now probably the largest and best framed church edifice in the county. From Young's History of Warsaw, 1869
AS IT APPEARS TODAY
Click here to see all early Warsaw churches.