Warsaw's Churches

The United Church of Warsaw -  Corner of South Main and East Buffalo Street built in 1867


The Baptist Church is a fine example of American Romanesque. It is opposite the United Church on South Main Street and is immediately north of the cobblestone, Masonic Temple. Recognized for its many, rolled cathedral glass windows, it is the congregation's third.

The church was built on July 16, 1889 by VanKirk and Oliver and dedicated on February 16, 1890. Organized by Elder David Irish, the first regular pastor came in 1816. At the time of its organization, the congregation was sharing a church with the Presbyterians.

St. Michael's Church at the Corner of North Main and North Streets was established in 1858. The current church was built between 1887-1888. The arrival of numerous Irish laborers during the construction of the Erie Railroad spurred the creation of a Catholic station, mission and finally a parish in Warsaw. The early brick church used by St. Michael's still stands today, down the street from the larger church built during the "salt boom" years. In 1903, Father John Rogers purchased a Bavarian Oberammegau apse window that was displayed with church art at the Buffalo Pan-American Exposition in 1901. The window depicts "St. Michael the Archangel." The present building is an example of American Gothic architecture made out of wood.

First Catholic Mission in Warsaw located at corner of Linwood and North Streets

Trinity Church built in 1854 located on the south side of West Buffalo Street

Trinity Church with an old, Victorian home with mansard roof to the right.

The home to the right was torn down to make room for the construction of the building now occupied by Tops Carpet Shop.