Eminent writer, jurist and diplomat, Elbert E. Farman was Wyoming County District Attorney from 1868 to 1876. He was diplomatic agent and Consul-General to Cairo, Egypt, in 1876 and reappointed at expiration of his term. Traveling with General Grant to the Khevdive in 1878, he also accompanied the General and Mrs. Grant up the Nile. Appointed as delegate for the United States on the Revision of the Judicial Codes to be applied in mixed international tribunals of Egypt, he later served as judge of these tribunals. He witnessed the riots at Alexandria in 1882 and served on a commission to determine the damage, secured the consent of the Khedive to remove the obelisk known as Cleopata's Needle from Egypt to Central Park in New York City..
He wrote two books, "Along the Nile" and "Egypt and its Betrayal."
As President of the Warsaw Centennial Celebration Association, in 1903, he went on to become President of an association formed to obtain a public library for Warsaw. He called Andrew Carnegie for the gift of $10,000 for the construction of the public library. The Farman Theatre was named for him on account of his efforts in promoting its erection at about the same time.
At the time of Farman's tenure as Wyoming County District Attorney in 1868, he partnered with George W. Frank to purchase from John A. McElvain about 28 acres of land. The land lying north of Genesee Street and east of the lots on the east side of Main Street, was laid out into building lots. They opened from their grounds, two new streets, Elm running to the northern corner of their land and one south of it, which became a continuation of Court Street. Today the street is called East Court Street. They set apart several acres for an enclosed Park. Three fine brick dwelling houses were erected on what is now Park Street, the G.W. Frank House, H.A. Dudley's Home and the Rev. J. E. Nassau. Mr. Farman commenced construction of his new home either about the same time or shortly thereafter becoming what is now 43 Elm Street. Young in 1869 wrote that this area would be one of the most attractive parts of the village.
E. E. Farman's later home on Liberty Street became a convent and chapel known as St. Anthony's Hall in 1942.